Inspired by Passion!

Sunday Musings


nume

People’s fates are simplified by their names
~ Elias Canetti

I am busy ghost-writing an e-book about Bingo currently and today one of the chapters that I wrote was regarding the influence of numerology on bingo. Being a Spiritual person, I find numerology, symbology, superstition, rituals and that type of thing very interesting. This is the part of writing that I love, when I get to do research and write about subjects that really interest me.

The numerology chapter led me to do extra research on some very specific numerology systems that are in use today (some of which have been around since forever), and the importance of “Master Numbers” in spirituality, astrology and various other aspects of life.

Do you believe in numerology? Are you interested in what the letters of your name and birth date say about you, your personality and life, or don’t you believe in that kind of thing? Do you have any specific numbers that you feel are your lucky numbers, or unlucky for you? Are you a logical person, a highly superstitious one or do you just have a natural curiosity about things?

Funnily enough, I took a break from writing for a few hours this afternoon and relaxed in the bath with a nice cup of coffee and watched a DVD on my laptop…. My way of switching the brain off and re-energising for the next session of being creative 😉

The movie I chose, very coincidentally, was “The Number 23” which is a psychological thriller about a man who is given a book of the same title by his wife for his birthday and subsequently becomes obsessed with the number. The film itself is  not one of Jim Carrey’s usual enjoyable ones – not that his acting was that bad, but in that the storyline is not that thriller `ish` and doesn’t really hit the mark with the general audience, I don’t think.

The idea of “The Number 23” was good, and there are many auspicious facts that can be worked into the number, quite believably, but I think they tried too hard and in the overkill totally destroyed any vestige of integrity and believability it may have had at the beginning. Just for fun, here are some of the simpatico dates and occurrences:

  • Each parent contributes 23 chromosomes to the DNA of a child.
  • It takes 23 seconds for blood to circulate throughout the entire body.
  • In humans, the 23rd chromosome determines gender.
  • Julius Caesar was stabbed 23 times when he was assassinated.
  • Earth’s axis is off by 23.5 degrees
  • The Knights Templar had 23 Grand Masters.
  • The Titanic sank the morning of April 15th, 1912 (4 + 1 + 5 + 1 + 9 + 1 + 2 = 23)
  • The Mayans believed the world will end on December 23, 2012 (20 + 1 + 2 = 23) [What the date actually foretold was totally misrepresented, but that is another subject entirely]

So, are you spooked yet? Are you looking where 23 occurs in your life?   … careful now or the number 23 will come after you…

For me, having just spent numerous hours researching numerology and its significance (or lack thereof) to science, the tarot and occultism, faith, healing, magick, and gaming… I was coming from a different place entirely. This of course got me thinking about how easy it is to get obsessed with something and to then convince oneself that we are completely sane and why can everyone else not see what we can see?

I will do some posts about Numerology, Sacred Geometry, Symbolism and more as time goes by and I get more time to write for fun….

This day got me taking stock of what beliefs and superstitions I may have and what I consider lucky for me. I am quite into symbology and do have certain symbols to which I have always felt drawn, 5, 7 and 11 are kinda my lucky numbers, not that I can really remember them ever BEING lucky in a significant way, but they are like old friends ~ in the comfort zone. I am not superstitious; too much of a logical thinker for that.

What about you? what are your

Superstitions?

Obsessions?

Phobias?

Lucky Numbers?

Fortuitous Symbols?

Lucky Colour?

Well…. tired now and need to get some rest so seeya all later.

Namaste
LightSpirit
Leave a Comment

