Inspired by Passion!

No More!


This story was posted on the Little Fighters Cancer Trust FaceBook page, and I just HAD to share it. Being a survivor myself I know what the “Big C” can do, and can only imagine what it does to little bodies and minds, which is why I support LFCT with everything I have got!

PLEASE READ
Little Angel who got his Wings too early

A Little Angel who got his Wings too early

NO MORE!

When I had to put a title to this note, it struck me. I can’t call it, “Musings of an Onco Mom”, or, “My Child has Cancer”, or even, “When my Child Had Cancer”.

Because I am unaffected. My children are healthy. Before coming involved with Little Fighters Cancer Trust, I did not know anyone with a child who has cancer. Heck, I never even thought children could get cancer!

I am an outsider. Probably just as 90% of people who might read this.

So yes, fellow outsider, I am writing this for YOU.

As I was standing at a two year old’s bed in hospital this morning and held a mother with as much love as I could muster, I though, if only I could get every single person to experience THIS. A little girl, bald and naked under her blankie except for a diaper, opening her eyes, and even in her morphine drugged state, realizes I am a stranger. The panic in her eyes as she looked at me and clung to her mommy’s hand with desperation, saying “no-no-no-no-no-no!”…because she thinks I am another doctor coming to prod and poke her with needles. She calms down a bit and then softly whispers, “ouch” to her mommy, holding out a bruised little hand, her mommy tenderly stroking the purple and black markings…then her bruised ankles. When she hears the medicine trolley come past the room, she again please, “no more-no more- no more” until reassured by her mommy with “no more”.

Terrified, petrified, anxious, scared, bewildered, fearful….what is the word for all of these combined, times 100? THAT was the look in her eyes. And this is what I want everyone to see…yet am working so hard at YOU, dear outsider, not having to ever see that look on your own child’s face. Because, believe you me, if  YOU, the unaffected, the outsider, the safe one, COULD see that, everyone would be aware of Childhood Cancer.

Yet, we are struggling to get South Africa AWARE.

What is wrong with a society which can turn a blind eye to the suffering of its own kind? And not only your own kind, but the youngsters, the children, the babies! Are we really so desensitized that we just don’t see anymore? That we don’t really care IF we see or not? Why is it, that a nation can stand up like one man when the national rugby team scores a try but they can’t stand up when their national child killer is busy destroying this nation’s future? People are so quick where there is a nice photo op to say that children are our future…WAKE UP! If the children all die, there IS no future!

So, what are we as the unaffected, the safe ones to do?

Well, I have a suggestion. To start with, open your eyes to the reality. Children get Cancer. Children are poked and prodded. They plead and beg and are scared, in pain…they suffer.

Once your eyes are open, make a commitment. Just get ONE more person AWARE.

I dream of the day that I can see this child again, when I can tell her “NO MORE”…no more Childhood Cancer. Sadly though, without YOU and me and every other outsider, this won’t happen any time soon. Become involved, let your heart love, show compassion, become passionate, become humane again.

The Little Fighters Cancer Trust draws it's inspiration from children who have no choice but to battle Cancer daily and the trials and tribulations their families face.

 

Related articles

Leave a Reply

